Tell Me a Story Podcast
Tell Me a Story Podcast
What Student Organization Did You Love at College?
0:00
-1:53

What Student Organization Did You Love at College?

At Macalester College, I founded a new student organization, Jocks Against Hippie Bums

When my alumni magazine, Macalester Today, asked the question, What student organization did you love at Macalester?, I answered the question in this way:

I loved JAHB (Jock Against Hippie Bums). It was an official student organization that I founded where everyone who joined got to pick an official role. Everyone was an officer of the club.

We had a constitution for the organization with a preamble, a midamble, and a postamble.

Over 500 students signed up to be officers in the club.

The only thing the club sponsored was a high noon shootout in front of the student union and a great rock 'n roll dance in the union.

The shootout featured 3 bad guys (I was one) against one good guy with the theme for The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly playing in the background. At high noon. In the middle of campus. No one knowing what was going on. The bad guys won.

As for the dance, I won the twist contest—but only because the girl I was dancing with was both beautiful and a good dancer.

So, ask yourself, what was the student organization or club or activity at your college that you loved? Why?

You can tell your story in the comments below! The best stories I will share in future Tell Me a Story podcast episodes.

Macalester College, Saint Paul, Minnesota
Macalester College, Saint Paul, Minnesota

Tell Me a Story Podcast is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Here is an incredible version of The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly theme song performed by the Danish National Symphony Orchestra, showcasing the power of the human voice as an instrument.

0 Comments
Tell Me a Story Podcast
Tell Me a Story Podcast
Tell me a story features live readings of short stories, episodic fiction, poems, and other fiction for kids of all ages.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
John Kremer