Tell Me a Story Podcast
Tell Me a Story Podcast
I Hate Everything
0:00
-2:22

I Hate Everything

A country music lesson to teach gratitude, love, and hope

Here’s a lesson on gratitude, relationships, and love as told by George Strait in his #1 song, I Hate Everything (Keith Stegall and Gary Harrison, composers and lyricists):

He was sitting there beside me throwing doubles down.
When he ordered up his third one, he looked around.
Then he looked at me.
Said I do believe
I'll have one more.
He said I hate this bar and I hate to drink,
But on second thought tonight I think
I hate everything.

Then he opened up his billfold and threw a $20 down,
And a faded photograph fell out and hit the ground.
And I picked it up.
He said thank you, bud.
I put it in his hand.
He said I probably ought to throw this one away
'Cause she's the reason I feel this way.
I hate everything.

I hate my job. And I hate my life.
And if it weren't for my two kids, I'd hate my ex-wife.
I know I should move on and try to start again,
But I just can't get over her leaving me for him.
Then he shook his head and looked down at his ring
Said I hate everything.

He said that one bedroom apartment where I get my mail,
Is really not a home. It's more like a jail.
With a swimming pool
And a parking lot view,
Man, that's just great.
I hate summer, winter, fall and spring
Red and yellow, purple, blue and green.
I hate everything.

I hate my job. And I hate my life.
And if it weren't for my two kids, I'd hate my ex-wife.
I know I should move on and try to start again,
But I just can't get over her leaving me for him.
Then he shook his head and looked down at his ring
Said I hate everything.

So I pulled out my phone
and I called my house.
I said, Babe, I'm comin' home.
We're gonna work this out.
I paid for his drinks,
And I told him thanks.
Thanks for everything.

Share Tell Me a Story Podcast

0 Comments
Tell Me a Story Podcast
Tell Me a Story Podcast
Tell me a story features live readings of short stories, episodic fiction, poems, and other fiction for kids of all ages.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
John Kremer
Recent Episodes